Trapped on an Island

The other day I found myself thinking about the popular question, if you were trapped on a deserted island, what would you bring? A friend asked me this while I was preparing to travel to Cameroon, and it felt pretty real, but I didn’t know how to answer exactly. What do I need to get through the day? In terms of material items, Cameroon is such a diverse country that it was difficult to prepare for. Was I going to be somewhere rainy,  or somewhere dry and hot? I may as well have prepared for a stint on a deserted island. I didn’t know if I would be in a rainforest or a desert, a city or village, an anglophone or francophone region. I packed a little of everything, not knowing what I would need or want, or have access to. 

If I were to pack again for Peace Corps, I would have brought fewer clothes and toiletries. I spent my time packing for two years but the reality is that you can find most essentials like toothpaste, shampoo and lotion at stores in larger towns. The same goes for kitchen supplies like measuring cups and work supplies like pens and notepads.

As far as clothing, my wardrobe has changed a lot from getting clothes made with a tailor and finding items at the market. Some of the things I brought don’t fit well anymore, or seem inappropriate to wear in my conservative village. It would have been much wiser to pack clothing based only on the things I will need during the first three months.

Now that I’ve been here for a  while, I think I did a good job packing certain essentials that help me get through each day. I hope that this is helpful for others considering what to pack when going away to Peace Corps!

  1. Pillow. I felt a little silly packing a full sized pillow in my luggage, but I quickly felt relief when I discovered the pillow my host family offered me was mildewy. Let’s face it, no one prefers that over even a cheap ikea pillow. Having my favorite squishy pillow has been a huge comfort when falling asleep after a long day.
  2. Underwear. Choose wisely and bring plenty. I happened to bring some polyester-spandex undies and that’s usually what I wear. They are great namely because, unlike cotton, they dry super quickly which is useful for when traveling, living in a rainy climate, or sweating a lot.
  3. A journal. I actually brought a few journals. I have a larger one where I write about my day, list out things I’m thinking about or struggling with, and process big questions. I also have a smaller journal, where every day of the year has its own page with five sections. Every day you write a few words on its page, and cycle through for five years. My only regret is that I didn’t start doing this earlier, it would have been fun to review what I did or thought about today one year ago. Writing in a journal is a helpful self-care strategy and reminds me to be present and attentive on a daily basis. A third journal is specifically for note taking during and after meetings, and helps me plan and track activities related to my work as a PCV.
  4. Yoga mat. Many days motivation to exercise is hard to muster. It’s something I’ve been struggling with a lot the past few months, but having a yoga mat makes it easier to do at least a few exercises in my house.
  5. Pocket dictionary. A friend of mine gave me a small English-French dictionary before I left, and I use it basically every day. It’s small enough to fit in my bag, and generally answers all my questions during the day. Thanks again Hannah!

Leave a comment